top of page

A snapshot of Dirgan Fasa's life as a Singapore freelance photographer

Updated: Dec 28, 2020

A little sneak peek at the journey of a travel blogger who pursues freelance photography as his side job.


A freelance photographer who is based mainly in Singapore. He is a lifestyle and commercial photographer. He has done mostly graduation, fashion, pre-wedding, family, and friendship photography for his clients. Dirgan Fasa 

(Self-portrait of Dirgan Fasa)


“While most photographers are embracing natural lighting so much, I am equipping myself with how artificial lighting works. This is to control and modify the look that I want to produce for my photoshoot in every situation/condition.”

Who are you?

My name is Dirgan Fasa, a freelance photographer who is based mainly in Singapore. I am a lifestyle and commercial photographer. I have done mostly graduation, fashion, pre-wedding, family and friendship photography for my clients.


 

baby birthday family photography by Dirgan Fasa 

Photo Courtesy of Dirgan Fasa


What is your belief/concept/style?

I believe that every photograph that I take has its purpose and meaning. Besides, I always focus more on the subject of the photoshoot and also the moments spent during the photoshoot; rather than additional elements like props and outfits.


 

fashion magazine photography by Dirgan Fasa 

Photo Courtesy of Dirgan Fasa


What makes your work different from the rest?

While most photographers are embracing natural lighting so much, I am equipping myself with how artificial lighting works. This is to control and modify the look that I want to produce for my photoshoot in every situation/condition.


 

prewedding couple photography by Dirgan Fasa 
prewedding couple photoshoot by Dirgan Fasa 

Photo Courtesy of Dirgan Fasa


What gave you the push to start photography as your freelance job?

I started photography as a hobby. I was a travel blogger. During my travels, I always had my mini Micro Four Thirds Camera in my bag. Throughout my travelling journeys, I made a lot of new friends. When they visited me in Singapore, they asked me to help them take their photographs and they loved the results. So, my photography career simply began with word-of-mouth recommendations from travellers and friends. Gradually, I have become a private photographer for the travellers that come to Singapore. Even until today, it is still through word-of-mouth marketing which has brought me to where I am today. My clients are ranging from influencers to conglomerate families.


 

prewedding couple photoshoot by Dirgan Fasa 

Photo Courtesy of Dirgan Fasa


What are the problems you have faced at the beginning of your photography career as you have to juggle between your main job and freelancing?

I am quite good at managing my time. For now, my main priority is still my main job as a Regional Sales Manager. However, I will eventually focus more on my photography career in the long run. There were times when I needed to forgo some photoshoot appointments as I was fully occupied with my main job. Countering this problem, I have created a photography community where there are so many talented local photographers to whom I can entrust my clients to when I could not.


 

prewedding couple proposal photoshoot by Dirgan Fasa 

Photo Courtesy of Dirgan Fasa


What is your advice for students/fresh graduates who want to pursue this career path whether it is as their main job or freelance job?

Think twice and be ready to lose the fun in photography!

When you do it for a hobby, you can take photos of anything you want or any project you love to do. However, when you do it for business, you often need to put your ego aside to fulfill the clients’ requirements and briefs. Most of the time, you will do more networking and less “photography”. Hence, your interpersonal skills are as important as your photography skills.



If you find this article helpful, do give it a Like💗 and comment on how you feel about the article below so we can source for more of such contents for you.

 

For some photography tips by Dirgan Fasa, you can read it on “How to avoid taking boring graduation photography?”


For more information on Dirgan Fasa’s photography portfolio, you may visit his Instagram account at @dirganfasapixels and @dirganfasa

bottom of page